Back to Top



CET’s Secretariat is undertaken by UK Steel, the association representing the UK steel industry based in London.

CET works with 3 committees

  • The Presidents' Committee
  • The Economic Committee
  • The Technical Committee


The Committees

The Presidents' Committee consists of the Chairmen of the national member associations and by the Presidents and/or decision makers of some large European wire drawing companies:

  • decide upon the general policy of CET
  • monitor the evolution of the sector in the various member countries
  • ensure the efficient operation of the organisation
  • oversee and co-ordinate the work of the various specialised Commissions
  • and deal with any questions falling outside the remit of the Commissions
  • collect and circulate information of interest to members.

There is an Economic Committee which covers both mild and hard steel wire, and a Technical Committee, which is especially active in the areas of standardisation and environmental problems.


The officers of CET

  • Mr Hans Kusters - Chairman
  • Mr Steve Andrews - Secretary